Port for Universal Apps?

Aug 16, 2014 at 11:25 PM
Hi There,

First, thanks for creating this library- I was planning to have a go at something similar myself, though I'm a very inexperienced developer and it would have taken me ages.

I'd like to try to use this library in a new Universal App for Windows and Windows Phone 8.1. I find I can't reference the library directly because it targets the full .net 4.5 framework, as opposed to the ".net core" used in universal apps.

I tried to simply "drag and drop" the source code from the mios project over to a new project targeting a Portable Class Library for Universal apps and unsurprisingly it fails... but perhaps not by much.

I looks like it's having a problem with the AsReadOnly() extension method (Readonly collections) in MIosControlles.cs - I'm missing a reference? A quick look on msdn here suggests that it is supported on all the platforms. So I'm wondering if it might be possible. Does anyone have any thoughts?

Many Thanks

Tim
Developer
Aug 18, 2014 at 3:56 PM

I’m not sure. I’d have to look again. Maybe we can work together to make this work.
Currently I don’t see any instances anywhere for AsReadOnly in my project files. Might be in the Mios core library.

Aug 20, 2014 at 12:16 PM
Hi Electricessence,

Thanks for the reply- I'd be very keen to work with you on this. Like I said, I've not really done any "real programming" in anger before (though I'm pretty well versed in the concepts and frameworks and very keen to learn!).

The issue, as you suggested, was in the Mios Core Library:
        public ReadOnlyCollection<MiosControllerInfo> Controllers
        {
            get { return this._miosControllers.AsReadOnly(); }
        }
It seems the AsReadonly() Extension method is not currently available for Universal Apps. By changing it to the following, I managed to get it to build as a Universal App PCL, which I could then reference in a Universal App: